Black Dog

October 17, 2011 § Leave a comment

The Black Dog follows me

What is it he wants?

I dare not look at him

In case I see his eyes

I smell his hide

All sweat and rain

He makes no sound

He is all I hear

He makes no move

But he is always there

I cannot lose him

The Black Dog breathes in my ear

And I dare not inhale his breath

I dare not look over my shoulder

In case I see his eyes

What does he want?

Why does he follow me?

I am stifled

I cannot breathe

Or think

Or move

Or live

I feel old

It is all coming to an end

What does he want?

I dare not look at him

Why does the Black Dog follow me?

© Chris Young, December 2000

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Black Dog at .

meta

